You are here

Exceptional science, mathematics and engineering mentors announced

Posted on June 25, 2018
paesmem logo

The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), with the National Science Foundation (NSF), has named 27 individuals and 14 organizations as recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM). PAESMEM recognizes outstanding efforts of mentors in encouraging the next generation of innovators and developing a science and engineering workforce that reflects the diverse talent of America.

The 41 mentors came to Washington, D.C. to receive their presidential certificates at a recognition ceremony.

NSF Press Release


Media contactBobbie Mixon Jr., Public Affairs Specialist, National Science Foundation 703-292-8485


I. Individual Awardees: A-E     F-L     M-S     T-Z

II. Organizational Awardees

I. Individual Awardees

Alice M. Agogino, University of California, Berkeley

Gilda Barabino, City College of New York

Reginald A. Blake, New York City College of Technology

Erika Camacho, Arizona State University

Ann L. Chester, West Virginia University

Paulinus Chigbu, University of Maryland, Eastern Shore

Maria Dolores Cimini, University at Albany, State University of New York

Dan Dimitriu, San Antonio College

Matthew R. Gilligan, Savannah State University

John K. Haynes, Morehouse College

Jennifer Karlin, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Tanja Karp, Texas Tech University

Gillian R. Knapp, Princeton University

Glenn S. Lee, Waialua High and Intermediate School

Jorge Lopez, University of Texas at El Paso

Zaida Morales-Martinez, Florida International University

John A. Pollock, Duquesne University

Leo Michael Romero, Tufts University

Daniel T. Schwartz, University of Washington

Elba E. Serrano, New Mexico State University

Melissa A. Simon, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Elena Bautista Sparrow, University of Alaska-Fairbanks

Keivan Stassun, Vanderbilt University

Dorceta Taylor, University of Michigan

Paul B. Tchounwou, Jackson State University

Maria da Graça H. Vicente, Louisiana State University

Joshua Villalobos, El Paso Community College

II. Organizational Awardees

Academy of Natural Sciences (Drexel University): Women In Natural Sciences (WINS)

Earth Science Women's Network

Enhancing Diversity in Graduate Education (EDGE)

Great Minds in STEM (GMiS)

IGNITE Worldwide

Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, Office of Strategic Initiatives

National Center for Earth-Surface Dynamics (NCED)

National Center for Women & Information Technology: Aspirations in Computing

New Mexico Mathematics, Engineering, Science Achievement (NM MESA)

Science on Wheels Peer Mentoring Educational Center (SONW), University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez

Team Mentoring Program (TMP), Washington State University

The Institute for Scientist & Engineer Educators (ISEE), University of California-Santa Cruz

The Society for Neuroscience's Neuroscience Scholars Program (NSP)

Vanderbilt Center for Science Outreach